COVID-19 Town Update


Governor Cooper issued a new Executive Order today that implements more steps in helping to address the COVID-19 outbreak. Some of the important points of the Executive Order are:

1. The prohibition of mass gatherings is now moved to be more than 50 persons.

2. The following entertainment facilities are ordered to close at 5 PM on Wednesday, March 25, 2020, though any retail or dining component may operate within that establishment solely for that purpose.

a. Bingo Parlors
b. Bowling Alleys
c. Ice Skating Rinks
d. Indoor Exercise Facilities (e.g. gyms, yoga studios, and
martial arts facilities)
e. Health Clubs
f. Indoor Pools
g. Live Performance Venues
h. Movie Theaters
i. Roller skating Rinks
j. Spas
k. Sweepstakes Lounges
l. Video game arcades

3. Personal care and grooming businesses, including but
not limited to the following, are also ordered to close:

a. Barber Shops
b. Beauty Salons
c. Hair Salons
d. Manicure/Pedicure Providers
e. Massage Therapists
f. Nail Salons
g. Tattoo Parlors

4. Appropriate local governmental agencies are directed to continue to exercise their responsibilities, including but not limited to local county Department of Social Services (“DSS”) offices, Registers of Deeds, and other local government functions that are required to protect people.

5. Long term care facilities shall restrict visitation of all visitors and non-essential health care personnel, except for certain compassionate care situations, for example, an end-of-life situation. For purposes of this Executive Order only, long term care facilities include all of the following:

a. Skilled nursing facilities;
b. Adult care homes;
c. Family care homes;
d. Mental health group homes; and
e. Intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual

6. Public school closures are extended until at least May
15, 2020.

7. The order will be effective at 5 PM, Wednesday, March 25, 2020.

Also, in an attempt to better protect the citizens, the Town has closed all playground facilities at the following parks: Fourth of July Park, Civitan Park, Harmon Park and Ivey Redmon Park. The parks will still remain open but the playground facilities will be closed. The skate park and basketball courts (Fourth of July Park and Civitan Park) have already been closed. Restrooms at all parks have already been closed as well. These closures will remain in effect until further notice.